Day 3: A Song from Childhood

For Day #3 of the Vocalo Song Challenge, here’s a song that most reminds me of my childhood.

I spent the first five or six years of my life at 526 Hermitage in the picturesque suburb of Deerfield, Illinois. In the basement was a treasure trove of vinyl which I’d listen to on the regular. Mostly Beatles & Stones, along with other sides from British Invasion acts, and some folk records from this side of the pond. I do not remember ever having a copy of Diana Ross’ “Theme from Mahogany”, but this is the song that brings me back to that time.

I remember the greenest of summer grass, running around the small neighborhood adventuring (gleefully unsupervised) with my neighbors / best-friends Jeff and Brad Norling. There is a palpable sadness- and beauty- to the lyrics of this song, which I can only assume I was hearing on the radio in 1975- meaning I was only… four years old?

There are lots of memories I have of living at this address. Some great memories, and some not so great.  These events shaped me, and this song was the bittersweet soundtrack for many of those old stories.

 

Next up –>

Tues Apr 28: Song best listened to at 3AM
Wed Apr 29: Song discovered in Quarantine
Thurs Apr 30 Song I’ll always know the lyrics to
Fri May 1: Song by a Chicago artist
Sat May 2: Song in a different language
Sun May 3: Song I’ll Karaoke with no shame
Mon May 4: Song I’d listen to on the L
Tues May 5: Song that makes me think of summer
Wed May 6: Song from the last concert I went to
Thurs May 7: Song from my favorite artist
Fri May 8: Song with incredible lyrics
Sat May 9: Song that defined 2019

Can’t Stop The Now...

More To Explore

TECO APPLE: Antarctica [NFT Remix]

William Is é a nova encarnação do artista multimídia de Chicago William Steffey. Sua carreira na produção musical começou aos 11 anos, quando recebeu um gravador

Breakdown at Creation

I originally recorded my song “Breakdown at Creation” circa 1995, and shortly after I created a 3D-music video to go along with it. You’ll need

Indie Criollo: Stop Listening to Worry

Review of  “Stop Listening To Worry” from the Ecuadorian blog Indie Criollo.  William Is y Deon Malik™ se unen para regalarnos Stop Listening to